New Business Item 20-31 REV

Introduced March 5, 2021 Approved March 5, 2021 Reintroduced August 13, 2021 Reapproved August 13, 2021

TITLE: Election of HTSB Officers for 2021-2022

The Hawaii Teacher Standards Board approves the following appointments for 2021-2022. Additional members will be added upon confirmation or appointment.

Chairperson: Branden Kawazoe Vice Chairperson: Lokelani Han

Legislative Committee:

Prepare and recommend bills to be introduced in the Legislature

• Monitor amendments to bills and recommend alternate language or action to the board

<u>Chairperson:</u> Dawn Raymond <u>Vice-Chairperson</u>: Kristi Miyamae

Committee Members: Elena Farden, Catherine Payne, Katina Soares

Ex-officio: Kawazoe, Han

Budget, Personnel and Strategic Planning Committee:

- Develop and recommend an annual Board budget
- Recommend amendments to the budget
- Identify support staff needed by the Board and develop position descriptions
- Evaluate HTSB Executive Director annually
- Provide for research pertinent to the Board's duties
- Recommend organizational direction
- Provide for the collection of data to ensure progress toward goals and priorities set by the Board

<u>Chairperson:</u> Les Murashige Vice Chairperson: Jonathan Gillentine

Committee Members: Catherine Payne, Brad Shimizu, Sean Bacon

Ex-officio: Kawazoe, Han

Teacher Standards Committee:

Recommend and maintain teacher, school counselor and school librarian standards

 Consider and recommend Board action on matters pertaining to teacher quality including standards, licensing requirements, testing, etc.

<u>Chairperson:</u> Kim Sanders <u>Vice-Chairperson:</u> Elena Farden

Committee Members: Kristi Miyamae, Glen Miyasato, Katina Soares

Ex-officio: Kawazoe, Han

Teacher Education Committee:

• Recommend and maintain standards for State Approval of Teacher Education

• Consider and recommend Board action on matters pertaining to teacher education

<u>Chairperson:</u> Amelia Jenkins <u>Vice-Chairperson:</u> Brad Shimizu

Committee Members: Catherine Payne, Jonathan Gillentine, Sean Bacon, 'Ekekela Aiona

Ex-officio: Kawazoe, Han

Submitted by: Branden Kawazoe

Referred to: Committee of the Whole