### **New Business Item 21-47Rev**

Introduced April 29, 2022 Revised August 12, 2022 Approved August 12, 2022

# TITLE: 2022-2023 Election of HTSB Officers and Committee Assignments

The Hawaii Teacher Standards Board approves the following appointments for 2022-2023. Additional members will be added upon confirmation or appointment.

HTSB Chairperson: Branden Kawazoe HTSB Vice Chairperson: Lokelani Han

### Legislative Committee:

• Prepare and recommend bills to be introduced in the Legislature

Monitor amendments to bills and recommend alternate language or action to the board

<u>Chairperson:</u> Kristi Miyamae <u>Vice-Chairperson:</u> Dawn Raymond

Committee Members: (NHEC Chair/Designee), Lauren Moriarty, Dr. Katina Soares

Ex-officio: Branden Kawazoe, Lokelani Han

# **Budget, Personnel, and Strategic Planning Committee:**

- Develop and recommend an annual Board budget
- Recommend amendments to the budget
- Identify support staff needed by the Board and develop position descriptions
- Evaluate HTSB Executive Director annually
- Provide research pertinent to the Board's duties
- Recommend organizational direction
- Provide for the collection of data to ensure progress toward goals and priorities set by the Board

<u>Chairperson:</u> Justin Mew

Vice Chairperson: Dr. Jonathan Gillentine

Committee Members: Lauren Moriarty, Sean Bacon, (NHEC Chair/Designee)

Ex-officio: Branden Kawazoe, Lokelani Han

#### **Teacher Standards Committee:**

- · Recommend and maintain teacher, school counselor, and school librarian standards
- Consider and recommend Board action on matters pertaining to teacher quality, including standards, licensing requirements, testing, etc.

Chairperson: Kim Sanders

Vice-Chairperson: (NHEC Chair/Designee)

Committee Members: Dawn Raymond, Dr. Katina Soares, Justin Mew

Ex-officio: Kawazoe, Han

#### **Teacher Education Committee:**

- Recommend and maintain standards for State Approval of Teacher Education
- Consider and recommend Board action on matters pertaining to teacher education

<u>Chairperson:</u> Dr. Cecily Ornelles

Vice-Chairperson: Sean Bacon

Committee Members: Lauren Moriarty, Dr. Jonathan Gillentine, Dawn Raymond,

(UH Hilo Teacher Candidate non-voting member)

Ex-officio: Branden Kawazoe, Lokelani Han

**Submitted by:** Branden Kawazoe