TITLE: Continuing State Approval of the University of Hawai'i at Mānoa's Library and Information Science Program for School Librarians

The Hawai'i Teacher Standards Board (HTSB) grants continued state approval to the University of Hawai'i at Mānoa's (UHM) Library and Information Science (LIS) Educator Preparation Program for School Librarians effective **February 6, 2024, to February 6, 2031.** This approval is based on the American Library Association Committee on Accreditation. The Decision Letter is attached.

American Library Association Accreditation Site Visit Team:

- Chair: Anne Cooper Moore, Dean
 J. Murrey Atkins Library
 University of North Carolina at Charlotte
- Lynn Connaway, Executive Director Research, OCLC Research
- Jean Donham, Professor, Retired School Library Studies, University of Northern Iowa
- Joseph W. Janes, Associate Professor Information School, University of Washington
- Tess Prendergast, Lecturer in Librarianship iSchool (Library, Archival & Information Studies), University of British Columbia

Candidates completing the UHM LIS program may be recommended to Add-a-Teaching Field to their valid Hawai'i teaching license in the following fields:

Degree Granted by the Institution	License Granted by HTSB
Master of Library and Information Science (MLISc)	Hawai'i State Teaching License: • School Librarian (K-6, 6-12, K-12)

The program must submit an annual report to the HTSB and report any changes/modifications to their program.

This NBI will be sent to the Educator Preparation Program (EPP) on behalf of the Board to communicate this decision.

The HTSB may take action on an HTSB approved Educator Preparation Provider (EPP) state approval if there is any failure to report changes/modifications of a program or if violations are found at any time during an EPP's accreditation term.

Rationale/Background:

In accordance with Hawaii Administrative Rules (HAR) §8-54-21, §8-54-22, and §8-54-23, an HTSB approved EPP is required to obtain accreditation from a national accrediting body approved by the Board. All continuing reviews, reports, and decisions made by the national accreditor will be submitted to the Board for final consideration and approval.

HTSB staff attended the site visit and observed LIS accreditation meetings. HTSB staff was not present at the decision-making meeting.

Cost:

No cost. Notification to the EPP regarding the Board's decision is included in the current staff job duties/responsibilities.

Submitted by: Branden Kawazoe

Referred to: Teacher Education Committee

Office for Accreditation

225 N. Michigan Avenue Suite 1300 Chicago, Illinois 60601-7616 USA



TDD 312-944-7298 Toll free TDD 888-814-7692 www.ala.org/accreditation Telephone 312-280-2432

Committee on Accreditation

Chair: Gail K. Dickinson Professor Emerita Old Dominion University

Denice Adkins Professor University of Missouri

Pauletta Brown Bracy Professor North Carolina Central University

H. Frank Cervone Associate Professor San Jose State University

Andrea Copeland Associate Professor Indiana University Purdue University

Iris M. Lee Head of Access Services Burns Law Library George Washington University

Nona Ostrove Public Member

Win Shih Director, Integrated Library Systems University of Southern California Libraries

Brett Waytuck Dean, University Libraries and Archives Dr. John Archer Library University of Regina, Canada

Shali Zhang Dean of Libraries Auburn University

Office for Accreditation

Linda Lysoby, Interim Director Susana Stoll, Associate Director February 20, 2024

Rich Gazan, Director Library and Information Science Program College of Social Sciences, Library, and Information Science Program University of Hawai'i at Mānoa 2550 McCarthy Mall, Hamilton Library 002

Honolulu, HI 96822

Dear Dr. Gazan:

On behalf of the Committee on Accreditation (CoA/the Committee), I write to inform you that the Committee voted to grant Continued accreditation status to the Master of Library and Information Science program. This determination explicitly includes all sites offering courses as part of the program.

The decision was made at the Committee meeting on February 6, 2024, based on the Self-Study, the External Review Panel Report, the reports the program submitted leading up to the comprehensive review, and the meeting with you and Anne Cooper Moore, Chair of the External Review Panel.

The next comprehensive review visit is scheduled for fall 2030. From this point forward, all reporting must address the revised Standards for Accreditation adopted by ALA Council on November 30, 2023.

In the next Biennial Narrative Report (due February 15, 2025) the following items must be addressed:

- An update on the process of systematically documenting the decisions that support systematic planning, curriculum development, faculty assignments, student achievement, and administrative decisions (I.2)
- The completion of a strategic plan for the program (I.3)
- An update on any rationalization of pathways and concentrations of study (II.3, II.5)
- An update on faculty hires, with particular attention to the teaching of technology (III.2, III.3)

For your information and planning, the schedule for reporting is as follows:

Report	Due date
Annual statistics 2024	February 15, 2025
Review the statistics the program makes available, per policy I.18.1 Statistical Reporting; also made available in the <u>Directory</u> as the Student Achievement data weblink	February 15, 2025
Biennial Narrative Report addressing each standard	February 15, 2025

Please return this letter with the last page completed to acknowledge receipt.

The Committee on Accreditation appreciates this opportunity to remain apprised of developments in the program and extends best wishes for the remainder of the academic year.

Sincerely yours,

Gail K. Dickinson, Chair, ALA Committee on Accreditation

attachment: Acknowledgement Form

Juil & Dickmen

cc: David Lassner, President, University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa Michael S. Bruno, Provost, University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa Denise Eby Konan, Dean, College of Social Sciences, University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa

Linda Lysoby, Interim Director, ALA Office for Accreditation