# TITLE: The Hawai'i Teacher Standards Board Election of Board Officers and Committee Assignments for 2025-2026

The Hawai'i Teacher Standards Board (HTSB) approves the following appointments for 2025-2026. Additional members will be added upon confirmation or appointment.

HTSB Chairperson: Kristi Miyamae HTSB Vice Chairperson: Dondra Ozaki

## **Legislative Committee:**

Prepare and recommend bills to be introduced to the Legislature.

 Monitor amendments to bills and recommend alternate language or action to the Board.

<u>Chairperson:</u> Dawn Raymond Vice-Chairperson: Kahele Dukelow

Committee Members: Dale Matsuura, Dr. Katina Soares, Dean Murata's Designee (TBD)

Ex-officio: Kristi Miyamae, Dondra Ozaki

## **Budget, Personnel, and Strategic Planning Committee:**

- Develop and recommend an annual Board budget.
- Recommend amendments to the budget.
- Identify support staff needed by the Board and develop position descriptions.
- Evaluate HTSB's Executive Director annually.
- Provide research pertinent to the Board's duties.
- Recommend organizational direction.
- Provide for the collection of data to ensure progress toward goals and priorities set by the Board.

<u>Chairperson:</u> Justin Mew <u>Vice Chairperson:</u> Sean Bacon

<u>Committee Members:</u> Erika Vincent, Deanna D'Olier <u>Ex-officio</u>: Kristi Miyamae, Dondra Ozaki

#### **Teacher Standards Committee:**

- Recommend and maintain teacher, school counselor, and school librarian standards.
- Consider and recommend Board action on matters pertaining to teacher quality, including standards, licensing requirements, testing, etc.

<u>Chairperson:</u> Dr. Katina Soares <u>Vice-Chairperson:</u> Dale Matsuura

Committee Members: Justin Mew, Kahele Dukelow, Deanna D'Olier

Ex-officio: Kristi Miyamae, Dondra Ozaki

#### **Teacher Education Committee:**

- Recommend and maintain standards for State Approval of Teacher Education Programs (SATEP)
- Consider and recommend Board action on matters pertaining to teacher education.

<u>Chairperson:</u> TBD

<u>Vice-Chairperson:</u> Dean Murata's Designee (TBD)

Committee Members: Kahele Dukelow, Dawn Raymond, Sean Bacon, Dale Matsuura,

(non-voting student teacher member)

Ex-officio: Kristi Miyamae, Dondra Ozaki

# Rationale/Background:

The election of Board officers and committee assignments may be subject to change following the confirmation of additional Board members. According to Robert's Rules of Order, when a new board is constituted—such as when new members are seated—the incoming board is responsible for selecting its officers and committee members.

# Cost:

There is no cost associated with this work.

Submitted by: Kristi Miyamae

**Referred to:** Budget, Personnel, and Strategic Planning Committee