Monday, July 22, 2024 01:59 PM

Teacher Performance Standards

The Hawaii Teacher Standards Board approved adoption of the Interstate New Teacher Assessment Consortium (InTASC) Model Core Teaching Standards for Hawaii’s Teacher Performance Standards on August 26, 2011, as new business item 11-06 (PDF). Hawaii State Approved Teacher Education Programs (SATEP) have incorporated these Performance Standards into their programs as of July 1, 2014. These new standards replace the existing Teacher Performance Standards for teachers renewing their licenses that expire on or after July 1, 2014.


The Council of Chief State School Officer’s (CCSSO) Interstate Teacher Assessment and Support Consortium (InTASC) developed new “core teaching standards” which represent a major revision to the Model Standards for Beginning Teacher Assessment and Development which were developed nearly two decades ago. No longer limited to assessment and support of new teachers, the new standards define standards of professional practice for all teachers. There are ten individual standards organized into four priority areas: Each standard is divided into the areas of performances, essential knowledge, and critical dispositions. The core teaching standards include a focus on 21st century knowledge and skills; personalized learning for diverse learners; a collaborative professional culture; improved assessment literacy; and new leadership roles for teachers and administrators. The core teaching standards describe what teachers should know and be able to do in today’s learning context to ensure students attain these learning goals, as well as encourage teachers to build literacy and thinking skills across the curriculum, and help students address multiple perspectives in exploring ideas and solving problems. The core teaching standards also address interdisciplinary themes (e.g., financial literacy, global awareness) and the teacher’s ability to build on content that draws upon multiple disciplines.


Standard 1: Learner Development

Standard 2: Learning Differences

Standard 3: Learning Environment

Standard 4: Content Knowledge

Standard 5: Application of Content

Standard 6: Assessment

Standard 7: Planning for Instruction

Standard 8: Instructional Strategies

Standard 9: Professional Learning and Ethical Practice

Standard 10: Leadership and Collaboration

Hawaii Teacher Performance Standards (PDF version)

Teacher Performance Standards Videos

Code of Ethics